Book Tour: Five Down by Tom Sibson

Title: Five Down
Author: Tom Sibson
Publisher: Red Dragon
Rating: 3/5

Synopsis:

After a sinister, cold-blooded murder in the town of York, a local crime journalist receives an email from the killer. They have sent him a cryptic clue and if it can be solved, it will reveal the location of the next planned murder. Teaming up with the police force, further emails begin to arrive, and more innocent lives are taken. It is a race against time to solve these cryptic clues and stop the sadistic killer before the streets of York run red with the blood of the innocent.

Review:

 I had my eye on this book for a while, waiting for its release so I was very excited when Zooloos Book Tours gave me the opportunity to read. Everything grabbed my attention for this debut novel, I loved the front cover, the description intrigued me, and I am also a puzzle lover, I was excited to dig in!

It didn’t take long for the story to take off, I liked that I was thrown straight into the action and that the action stayed from beginning to end. It didn’t take long for me to start guessing who was behind it all, it was like I was trying to solve a big puzzle myself!

Honestly, I was a little worried I would be unable to connect with the story line at first, it did take me a few chapters but thankfully the feeling passed! The story did feel a little chaotic at times, but I liked this because I was feeling exactly like the characters were feeling, so it was almost as if I was involved with the team.

The more I read on, the more I became wary of characters, I genuinely didn’t know who really could be trusted at times. I also liked how some chapters left me in suspense, which meant I could not read on.

I was kept on my toes throughout this read, I honestly could not solve the puzzle myself and I love it when a read is unpredictable. The ending was very satisfying after the build-up, a very clever plot. The author had me in suspense from start to finish and I’m not going to lie, a part of me was slightly gutted that I was unable to solve those clues!

1 comments

Leave a comment