Book Tour: Sisters by Judith Barrow

Title: Sisters
Author: Judith Barrow         
Publisher: Honno Welsh Women’s Press     
Pages: 352
Genre: Modern/Contemporary Fiction
Rating: 5/5

Thank you so much to Random Things Tours for allowing me to be part of the book tour!

Synopsis:
A terrible accident followed by a terrible lie tears two sisters apart. Many taking the blame for it all, because Angie believes she is too young to get into trouble. But she is very wrong and as a result, Mandy feels she is no longer wanted and goes to build a new life and identity at her aunt’s. Mandy starts new as Lisa, slowly she begins to get her life back on track, refusing to have anything to do with her sister again. But 13 years later, they meet again at their mother’s funeral and Lisa sees something is very wrong with her sister. Angie is terrified of her husband and her father also seems to be hiding something. Can Lisa put the past behind her and forgive the betrayal to help those she was once close to?  

Review:

As I have sisters myself, the title of this book instantly caught my attention, then after reading the description, I knew this book would be for me and I can safely say I was correct in my thoughts! I had an incline that this book would also have me feeling a range of emotions which I was excited for, and once again, my incline was correct!

When starting this book, I have to say, the short, snappy prologue did a fantastic job at grabbing my attention, but also did a fab job at setting the mood.  I liked that I was thrown straight into the story too, this book really did have a powerful opener and it had me feeling everything the characters were.

The story itself is told through the perspective of the two sisters and these are clear and easy to follow. I liked that the story was told in this way as it really allowed me to get into their heads and understand their thoughts and feelings. As a result, once again, this had me feeling a range of emotions.

There is quite a lot going off in this story, there’s plenty to get stuck into and it is actually quite intense at times which I enjoyed. The short and snappy chapters also made this a rather pacy read which I devoured in two sittings. I loved how the author would also cleverly leave you hanging at the end of some chapters, making it near enough impossible to put the book back down.

The author did a brilliant job at creating complex characters but also creating characters you could hate I literally wanted to reach into the book a few times to give a certain someone a good slap!

This book really stood out to me, it was a rather powerful read, that really did pack a punch. The author covers a range of themes in this book from loss, estrangement/family breakdowns, and domestic abuse. The author raises awareness and shows how real these things are and how it can impact and change lives.

This was a clever, thought-out book, I really did enjoy the plot. I could feel the tension building at times and I was gripped from start to finish, a powerful read.

4 comments

  1. I’m not surprised at this review which shows the powerful impact it had on the reviewer. Like Hannah, it made a powerful impact on me, too.

    Like

Leave a comment