Book Tour: Blanket of Blood by Eileen Wharton

Title: Blanket of Blood
Author: Eileen Wharton    
Publisher: SpellBound Books   
Genre: Thriller
Rating: 4/5

Synopsis:
A body of a baby is found in the woods, but nothing is as it seems, in fact, things are a lot more sinister. There is a twisted, serial killer targeting pregnant, teenage girls. It is a race against time for DI Blood, this is the most chilling murder case he has ever had to solve. He tries to remain focused on the case, but his private life proves to be a huge distraction, having the potential to derail everything. All it takes is for him to lose focus or make a mistake and another life could be taken.

Review:

Blanket of Blood is the first book in the Gary Blood crime series, and I couldn’t wait to dig in. The book description sounded right up my street, because you really can’t bear a twisted serial killer read, I was very excited for this book.  

The prologue instantly had me hooked in, it didn’t take long for the book to have me in its clutches, I was instantly hit with a sinister feel, and I weirdly loved that. As I began to read, I found the chapters not to be overly long, this made sure the book kept my attention and it kept the story moving at the perfect pace for me. I connected with the authors writing instantly and it didn’t take long for the story to kick off, I was thrown straight into the investigation headfirst.

One of my favourite things about this book is that we hear from the killer throughout. I weirdly enjoyed being in their head and looked forward to hearing from them again. I also enjoyed how it could get quite gruesome in places, to some this may be unsettling, it isn’t for the faint hearted, but for me it felt like a ‘proper’ thriller, I like my reads dark.

50% through, and I still was no closer to working things out, and usually I’m good at this! I can’t praise an author enough when they keep me on my toes! There was plenty going on, I remained hooked throughout. It is safe to say the author created some very interesting characters.

Another thing I really liked is how the author cleverly used humour to lighten the mood at times, this was very refreshing after some intense scenes. The author is a very descriptive writer, so you do have some intense imagery in your head at times- again, I loved this!

As for the ending, that was just wow! I honestly did not see that one coming, so praise for the author’s clever plot. This series really does have potential to be amazing.

1 comments

Leave a comment