Book Tour: A Gypsy in Auschwitz by Otto Rosenberg

Title: A Gypsy in Auschwitz
Author: Otto Rosenberg   
Publisher: Monoray/Octopus Books  
Genre: Non Fiction Holocaust Biography   
Pages: 240
Rating: 5/5

Synopsis:

At the age of 9, Otto Rosenberg was living a simple but happy life, this is until the Nazis tore his family away from their home. Taken to a camp on the outskirts of Berlin, they were placed with other Roma and Sinti families. Otto noticed that his family began to be broken up and people would often disappear, some were also ‘sent East’. Eventually it was Otto’s turn.
He arrived at Auschwitz at the age of 15, all alone. Trying his best to survive he worked hard and scrounged for food whenever possible, as well as being a witness to some horrific violence. Otto manages to starve off death, survive illnesses and extreme hunger. Transported to other camps, through luck and determination Otto manages to live, he manages to survive to tell his story.

Review:

The history of the Holocaust has always had a special place in my heart, I have seen Auschwitz for myself and met survivors, I have read many biographies and they have all hit me deeply, so I was expecting this read to do the same and I wasn’t wrong.

I’ll start with Otto’s early memories; they were so heart warming to read and the cheeky chappy that Otto was brought a few smiles to my face. I loved that the book used photographs as part of the story too, it really did bring Otto’s history to life.

Otto had such a kind soul, he was hard working from a young age and always took pride in what he did as well as being willing to help anyone, ever in dyer circumstances. I honestly loved his ethic and I really do admire the human he was.

It was very harrowing to read what those innocent people were put through, and it was extremely sad to read about how they become numb to what they were seeing and experiencing, I honestly can’t even begin to imagine the turmoil they must of felt.

This book really hit me in the feelings a few times, there were two moments that will really stay with me. The first moment was reading these words, “The world is full of terrible people, but there are always a few good men among them.” I really couldn’t agree with this more. The second moment and what really struck a nerve with me was when I read how after liberation, the victims still struggled to get their life on track because they were often left to figure it out on their own.

One thing I really loved about this book is that it wasn’t over complex or information overload, which meant it didn’t become over whelming. I really liked the tone of the book too, it felt like Otto was speaking to me at times.

This was a very powerful read and beautifully written too, full of raw emotion. I finished this in 2 sittings because I was interested in everything Otto had to say. I am very thankful that his daughter ensured his story was told and in such a lovely way too. A real humbling read.

Leave a comment